Recent Searches
Clear

Are you interested in?

Day Trips
84 Tours & Activities
Tours, Sightseeing & Cruises
152 Tours & Activities
Step into the Void (Aguille du Midi Skywalk) Tours
5 Tours & Activities

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

|
Geneva, Switzerland
139

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon10 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Discover the allure of the European Alps on a full-day trip to Chamonix and Mont Blanc, the highest mountain in Europe, from Geneva. With a guide, travel through the splendor of the countryside to Chamonix, a picturesque Alpine town. Upgrade options include ticket to ascend the Aiguille de Midi peak in a modern cable car; a scenic railway ride to Montenvers, home to Mer de Glace; and a French-style lunch in Chamonix.
  • Full-day trip to Chamonix and Mont Blanc in France from Geneva, led by a professional guide
  • Drive through the Arve Valley to Chamonix
  • Choose from different tour options to suit your preferences
  • Ride the cable car to the summit of the Aiguille du Midi (if option selected)
  • Marvel at spectacular views of the Swiss, French, and Italian Alps, including Mont Blanc and the Matterhorn
  • Hop aboard the cog railway to Montenvers and enjoy a 3-course lunch in Chamonix (if option selected)
  • Tour includes round-trip travel from Geneva

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This tour offers both independent sightseeing and a guide on the coach to give you the scoop on Mont Blanc.
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Cable car ride to summit of Aiguille du Midi (if option selected)
Train ride to Montenvers (if option selected)
Lunch (if option selected)
Skip the line tickets
Guide if more than 10 people or driver guide for small groups

Departure Point

Geneva Bus Station, 1201 Geneva, Switzerland

Departure Time

8:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Select from a variety of options and customize your tour according to your preferences. The guide provides historical insight on the region, and then climb aboard a comfortable coach in central Geneva to begin your journey. Admire stunning scenery as you drive to the Alpine village of Chamonix and marvel at the village’s majestic location at the foot of Mont Blanc on arrival.

Select from the tours listed in the Itinerary section to determine the schedule and price of your day in Chamonix and Mont Blanc. Please note from November 6th to December 15th is the annual closure of the Aiguille du Midi.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Geneva
Meet your guide at the Geneva Bus Station and board the bus
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Chamonix
Explore the stunning alpine scenery of Chamonix in the French Alps. Chamonix is a picturesque town and the most famous mountain resort in France; from everywhere in the city if you look at the sky …you will see It – The roof of Europe – The Majestic Mont-Blanc. Enjoy the bus ride to the third natural mountain spot most visited in the world.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Statue of Balmat and Saussure
Take a photo of the most famous Alpinistes
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Montenvers - Mer de Glace Train
If option selected - Discover the well known Ice Sea, take the mountain train until the Montenvers station and enjoy the panorama. Go down to visit the Ice Caves or the Glaciorium
Duration: 3 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Aiguille du Midi
If option selected - Ride up the cable car and discover a spectacular panoramic view of the Chamonix Valley and the French, Swiss and Italian Alps at 3842m ! On a clear day, you may even see the Mattherhorn, the famous Swiss peak and icon of Switzerland – it’s even found on packages of delicious Toblerone chocolate. If it’s open, you can try the unique adventure: "Step into the Void" BREATHTAKING!
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for children aged 2 and under
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Please dress appropriately for a day in the mountains; even if it is warm and sunny in Geneva, it can be cold and wet in Chamonix or at the top of the Aiguille du Midi and on the Mer de Glace
  • The operation of the Aiguille du Midi cable car and Mer de Glace train are both subject to local weather conditions on the day
  • Please note there is unplanned maintenance on the Aiguille du midi cable car at the moment, an alternative cable car will be offered with a similar view
  • If one of the activity closes, there will be alternative offers, or partial refunds, but the transports won't be refunded in any case
  • Please note that the official currency of France is the EURO. Swiss francs are unlikely to be accepted in Chamonix
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel, as you will be travelling from Geneva (Switzerland) to Chamonix (France)
  • Please note: guide will be present with you on the bus and the village. You will have free time in the cable car or train and the guide will meet you after.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Keytours (Switzerland)

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva?
A:
The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Note to anyone going on this tour - it is extremely cold and windy - dress warmly and wear proper shoes!" See review
  • "Words cannot describe the beauty of the glaciers and snow capped mountains, Do remember to carry your Passport as you cross the French border." See review
  • "If the weather is good, and the Mer de Glace glacier is open to visit, Montenvers is a must." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
741 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 741 reviews
star-2
No tour guide, no fun.
Joanne_W
, Aug 2020
This was supposed to be a guided tour. But, upon arrival, I was informed that there was no tour guide and the driver just gave me a general description of where I should go and what I should do. Frankly, I should have just cancelled on the spot. After a mediocre day in Chamonix, I requested a partial refund for the fact that I paid for a guide who was not provided. This was not forthcoming. In hindsight, I should have cancelled on the spot.,
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Good morning, Thank you for your comment and we are sorry to read it. We hope you can understand the hard situation in tourism right now. You were the only person and still we did not cancel the bus, not to disapoint the customer. We informed you before going on the bus that for one person we didn't had a guide. But we had an english driver guide. On the guided tour, you are on your own on the activities and the driver guide met you afterwards to go around jus like what happens on the tour. We understand you felt disapointed but we do everything not to cancel because you have plan this day. Our drivers guides have been trained and know all the areas, it's a shame you didn't enjoy it. Chamonix is a wonderful place, one of the most beautiful in the world, we are sorry you found it mediocre. We could do everything the same, the only difference was a driver guide not a guide and we did refund you for this part. Best regards
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Good views but poorly organised tour
Nicola
, Aug 2020
Excellent scenery, well worth a visit. However, we found the tour poorly planned and organised; upon getting to the top of Mont Blanc, it was recommended that we do the glass box (main attraction), yet the guide gave us a meeting time that was less than the advertised queue time of this attraction. Feeling this was an important part of the trip, we did it anyway and the tour guide left without us. We followed the itinerary on the leaflet we had been given and waited at the next spot at the correct time, but the guide didn’t show. We didn’t see him again until the end of the day. He was running late and caused us to miss the first return bus.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Good morning, we would like to thank you for your review and we are sorry you feel disapointed. The glass box is up on the cable car, we cannot prevent the queue with the new restrictions, we still have an itinerary to if you have multiple options included in your day trip. If you cannot find the guide, or if you want to skip an activity to give priority to the other, you can always contact us, we contact the guide, our phone is available all day with a what s app number. As mentionned, we gave you the opportunity to take a later bus than the one planned in order for you to do all you wanted. We are again sorry but we are glad you enjoyed the view and the place. Best regards
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Chamonix Mont-Blanc
Helen_O
, Jul 2020
The customer service was excellent our driver Tom is the best. He made sure we were well catered for? Also when we feel stranded on don't blanc due to cable times, the company rang to check on us and to make sure we are not left behind! We would recommend Swiss Tours they are the best 😁
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Good morning Helen, We would you to thank so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the tour. and the town of Chamonix as the view are amazing. Having you keeping good memories and good experience is our goal and we wish you a nice holiday!!
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Terrible
Shashi_A
, Jul 2020
Our experience was terrible. We were given expired tickets. At Chamonix we had to leave the que because tickets were not valid. It took another 30 minutes to reach tour operator and another one hour to understand that nothing can be done. We had to purchase our own tickets and a refund of just 100 CHF PER person given. We lost our visit to glacier due to your mistake.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2020
Good morning, We would like to thank you for your review. We are sorry you felt a bad experience. As ysou could see the validity of the ticket was 30.11.20, so for us it was impossible to know it didn't pass. However you called the office, we told you we would talk the the cable car company and call you back straight away. We ve tried 13 times between 10 and 11, you did not pick up your phone. When we finally reached you, we gave you two solutions, either you paid now without waiting and we refund the pass or you wait that we brings you new passes. In order for you to do the glacier, we have organise a later bus at 18h30 instead of 17h so you wouldn't lose your activity. We are sorry for the problem that happened, we found solutions. It's a shame you didn not enjoy the view as it's one of the most fabulous view. Best regards
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
The top of Mont Blac
Ruth_v
, Feb 2020
Niels was our guide and it was a great day trip!!! Amazing place to see - well worth it - very helpful having a guide to explain everything and show you where to go
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Good afternoon Ruth, thank you for the great review.The guide will be so glad. The reviews are important for us because we can grow up and become better everyday.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Poor trip to do in bad weather
Adam_T
, Feb 2020
It was a bad day weather wise and the train & cable car weren’t working. So we hung around Chamonix in the cold (the power was out) then the guide took us to Annecy. There was a bit of commentary on the bus but a lot of it was personal opinion. There wasn’t any ‘guiding’ per se. We were refunded the tickets for the cable car & train but still paid about $350 to sit on a bus for a day. Very disappointing.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Good morning, thank you for your review. Chamonix Mont Blanc is a mountain trip, it means we are subjected to mountain weather and conditions. As mention on the website, the bus is never cancelled because one of the point is to see Chamonix village which is a mountainery pretty village and really worth it. Furthermore, we leave Geneva at 8h30 and at this time, w can't know if the cable car or the train will open, the compagny is deicing, taking off the snow, checking the windm the info is only given at 10 when we arrive. And even at that time, sometimes the openings can be reported. As we care about the experience, instead of leaving our customers in the cold the whole daym we offer alternative such as visiting Annecy, which is another pretty city. We are sorry for the experience, unfortunately, we can't expect always good weather in the mountains. We hope you enjoyed the village of chamonix which is full of charms even under the snow. Best regards
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Amazing
Adel_A
, Feb 2020
I booked the full day trip and didn't regret it. Worth every penny and Caroline the tour guide is so helpful. Thanks
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Superb day out
ANTONY_P
, Feb 2020
Niels the tour guide was ace. The trip was excellent! Beautiful views. The Alps are truly stunning. Remember to wrap up warm and take sunglasses as the snow is very reflective! Worth every penny.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Robbery for Lunch
RABIHABIAMMAR
, Feb 2020
The trip was organized, yet the lunch was awful, noting that I paid around 60 usd for the lunch, which is quite expensive for what i got. The cold dish was 2 mushrooms, half a boiled egg, with some cabbage on the side with no taste. The service was very slow, despite there were only 4 tables in the whole restaurant. After waiting for almost an hour for the hot dish, here comes the chicken that has no taste in creamy sauce & french fries that was almost black as it was fried in same oil maybe for 3 years in a row. What shall i say about the dessert that was almost a piece of bread covered with strawberry jam & has no taste at all. I honestly felt that it is sort of robbery & would not recommend it or do it again. Ill post this on social media.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great day at Chamonix
megansdreed
, Feb 2020
This experience was so wonderful. The tour guide was incredibly thorough and funny. He really made the tour. I met very nice people on this tour. You have more than enough time to see everything for the full day tour with lunch.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Good morning, We would like to thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your day, the timetable, and the views. We are happy you have good memories and we wish you a nice holidays
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 2510KT001

Explore Similar Things to Do